25 Years Old

Zanesville Rotary turned 25 in 1940 and celebrated the occasion with a banquet in the Minuet Room at the Hotel Rogge. Eight charter members attended the event. Claris Adams, President of the Ohio State Life Insurance Company, was the speaker at the anniversary celebration, which attracted 200 people, including Rotarians, their wives and guests.

Originally sponsored by the Columbus club, the Zanesville club had grown from 16 members to an organization boasting 81 members.

Charter members in attendance included A.T. Baker, E.M. Ayers, E.R. Meyer, M.V. Imlay, Dr. E.D. Brush, Roy Van Devere, Harry Gobel and A.P. Rogge.

Its President, Dr. Clyde Hebble and President-elect, Hendry Howe, represented the Columbus Rotary Club at the meeting. Van Devere, Master of Ceremonies, introduced both officials. The program featured vocal and instrumental selections by a number of Lash High School musicians.

Representatives of clubs in Cambridge, Barnesville, Coshocton and McConnelsville also attended the celebration banquet. The Zanesville club sponsored these clubs. Van Devere presided at the meeting and introduced distinguished guests and members of the club, while Fred H. Johnson, past District Governor, presented the principal speaker. Clyde B. Calhoun was Chairman of the Committee on Arrangements.

Join Leaders. Exchange Ideas. Take Action.

For more information about Rotary, or to visit a club near you, contact us.